rtmark
LearnBonds.com

FICO Score Range: Was gilt als gut?

Wenn Sie Geld ausleihen, werden die Kreditgeber Ihre FICO-Punktzahl überprüfen. Wir werden behandeln, was als guter FICO-Punktebereich angesehen wird und wie Sie Ihren Punktestand verbessern können.
Autor: Michael Graw

Zuletzt aktualisiert: Mai 11, 2020
Ein Stapel Kreditkarten - für die Berechnung der FICO-Punktzahl
Ein Stapel Kreditkarten - für die Berechnung der FICO-Punktzahl

Ihre Kredit-Score ist extrem wichtig, wenn Sie Geld ausleihen möchten. Schließlich ist es die Zahl, anhand derer die Kreditgeber bestimmen, ob sie Ihnen einen Kredit anbieten und welchen Zinssatz sie berechnen sollen. Wenn Sie sich noch nie mit Kredit-Scores befasst haben, ist wahrscheinlich nicht sofort klar, was Ihre Nummer für Ihre Kreditaussichten bedeutet.

In diesem Artikel werfen wir einen Blick auf eines der beliebtesten Kredit-Score-Modelle, die Kreditgeber im ganzen Land verwenden: FICO-Scores. Wir erklären Ihnen, was der FICO-Bewertungsbereich ist, damit Sie verstehen, was als guter und was als schlechter Kreditwert angesehen wird. Wir werden auch einige Möglichkeiten untersuchen, wie Sie Ihre FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit verbessern können, damit Sie sich in die bestmögliche Position bringen, um einen erschwinglichen Kredit zu erhalten.

Auf dieser Seite:

Inhalt [erklären]

    FundsJoy Privatkredite - am besten für hohe Limits

    Unsere Wertung

    Fundsjoy - Privatkredite
    • Leihen Sie sich zwischen 200 und 5000 US-Dollar aus
    • Die Genehmigungszeit ist außergewöhnlich
    • Einfacher Bewerbungsprozess
    Fundsjoy - Privatkredite

    Grundlegendes zum FICO-Bewertungsbereich

    Ihr FICO-Kredit-Score ist eine einzelne Zahl, die zwischen 300 und 850 liegt. Je höher der Score, desto besser ist Ihr Kredit in den Augen der Kreditgeber und desto wahrscheinlicher ist es, dass Kreditgeber Ihnen einen Kredit zu günstigen Konditionen anbieten.

    Wir können den FICO-Kredit-Score weiter in fünf Unterbereiche unterteilen, um Ihren Kredit allgemein zu beschreiben:

    • 800-850: Außergewöhnlich
    • 740-799: Sehr gut
    • 670-739: Gut
    • 580-669: Fair
    • 300-579: Sehr P.oor

    FICO-Bewertungsbereich: Das FICO-Bewertungsrad zeigt die verschiedenen Klassen von Kreditnehmern an

    Im Allgemeinen wird jeder Kredit-Score über 580 als in Ordnung angesehen. Ab dieser Stufe können Sie leicht einen Kreditgeber finden, der bereit ist, mit Ihnen zusammenzuarbeiten. Häufig verlangen Kreditgenossenschaften und seriöse persönliche Kreditgeber eine Mindestkreditbewertung von 580, um für einen Kredit genehmigt zu werden.

    Wenn Ihre Kredit-Score 670 oder höher ist, sind Sie auf oder über der Kreditwürdigkeit eines durchschnittlichen Amerikaners. Sie sollten kein Problem damit haben, einen Kreditgeber zu finden, wenn Sie in die Kreditkategorien „Gut“, „Sehr gut“ oder „Außergewöhnlich“ fallen.

    Kredit-Scores unter 580 gelten als schlecht. Bei schlechten Krediten müssen Sie speziell nach Kreditgebern suchen, die bereit sind, mit schlechten Krediten zu arbeiten.

    Was bestimmt Ihren FICO-Kredit-Score?

    FICO-Kredit-Scores wiegen im Allgemeinen fünf verschiedene Kategorien, um Ihren Score zu berechnen:

    • FICO-Bewertungsbereich: Das FISCO-Bewertungsrad zeigt an, wie die Bewertung ermittelt wirdZahlungsverlauf (35%): Haben Sie Ihre Schulden pünktlich bezahlt? Dieser Teil Ihrer Kreditwürdigkeit sinkt, wenn Sie eine Zahlung verpassen, und steigt, wenn Sie über einen langen Zeitraum hinweg konsequent Schuldenzahlungen leisten.
    • Geschuldeter Betrag und Kreditverwendung (30%): Wie viel schulden Sie derzeit Kreditgebern? Noch wichtiger ist, wie viel von Ihrem gesamten verfügbaren Kredit (von Kreditkarten und anderen Eigenkapitallinien) leihen Sie derzeit aus? Dieser Nutzungsgrad gibt den Kreditgebern eine Vorstellung von Ihrer allgemeinen finanziellen Gesundheit.
    • Kreditlaufzeit (15%): Je länger Sie Kreditlinien in Ihrem Namen geöffnet haben, desto besser ist Ihre FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit. Einfach ausgedrückt, haben Kreditgeber mehr Daten über Ihre Kreditaufnahme und Ihre Wahrscheinlichkeit, eine Schuld zurückzuzahlen.
    • Kreditmix (10%): Dieser Teil Ihrer FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit hängt davon ab, wie viele verschiedene Arten von Schulden Sie im Laufe der Zeit aufgenommen haben. Wenn alle Ihre Schulden auf Kreditkarten sind, wird dies Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit im Vergleich zur Verteilung dieser Schulden auf eine Kreditkarte, einen Autokredit, einen Privatkredit und eine Hypothek beeinträchtigen.
    • Neuer Kredit (10%): Wenn Sie kürzlich Geld geliehen oder eine neue Kreditlinie eröffnet haben, kann Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit leicht sinken. Stellen Sie sich das so vor: Wenn Sie in den letzten drei Monaten fünf verschiedene Kredite aufgenommen haben, wäre dies eine potenzielle rote Fahne für neue Kreditgeber.

    Es gibt mehr als einen FICO-Score

    Leider sind Kredit-Scores nicht so einfach wie eine einzelne Zahl. Dies liegt daran, dass FICO im Laufe der Zeit und für verschiedene Branchen verschiedene Versionen seines Kreditbewertungsalgorithmus herausgebracht hat. Infolgedessen verwenden verschiedene Kreditgeber möglicherweise unterschiedliche Formeln, um Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit zu bestimmen.

    FICO 9 gegen FICO 8

    Der Hauptgrund, warum verschiedene Kreditgeber unterschiedliche Kredit-Scores für eine einzelne Person sehen könnten, ist, dass der FICO-Algorithmus im Laufe der Zeit Aktualisierungen durchlaufen hat. Das Unternehmen hat kürzlich FICO 9 veröffentlicht, aber viele Kreditgeber und Kreditagenturen verwenden FICO 8 immer noch zur Berechnung der Kredit-Scores. In der Tat könnten einige Kreditgeber einen Kreditbewertungsalgorithmus verwenden, der so alt ist wie FICO 5, der 2005 veröffentlicht wurde!

    Die Unterschiede zwischen den FICO-Bewertungsalgorithmen können erheblich sein. FICO 9 beispielsweise misst überfälligen medizinischen Schulden weniger Gewicht bei als anderen Arten von Schulden, was einen großen Unterschied in der Kreditwürdigkeit einiger Personen bewirken kann. FICO 9 erleichtert es den Mietern auch, ihre Kreditwürdigkeit zu verbessern, indem pünktliche Mietzahlungen berücksichtigt werden, die von FICO 8 ignoriert werden.

    Derzeit verwendet die überwiegende Mehrheit der Kreditgeber immer noch FICO 8, um Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit zu berechnen. Es lohnt sich jedoch, bei verschiedenen Kreditgebern einzukaufen, wenn Sie sich an der Grenze zwischen den Teilbereichen der Kreditwürdigkeit befinden. Mit FICO 9 können Sie möglicherweise ein besseres Kreditangebot von Kreditgebern erhalten.

    Branchenspezifische FICO-Scores

    Um die Sache noch verwirrender zu machen, haben wir uns bis jetzt nur auf „Basis“ -FICO-Scores konzentriert. Es gibt auch branchenspezifische Scores, die zwischen 250 und 900 statt zwischen 300 und 850 liegen.

    Diese Branchenbewertungen verwenden Algorithmen, die beispielsweise auf Autokredite sowie auf Hypotheken, Kreditkarten und andere Arten von Krediten zugeschnitten sind. Wenn Sie fast mit der Rückzahlung eines Autokredits fertig sind, aber eine Menge Kreditkartenschulden haben, ist Ihre autospezifische Kreditwürdigkeit möglicherweise viel höher als Ihre kreditkartenspezifische Punktzahl.

    Dies ist wieder einmal ein Grund, warum es so wichtig ist, sich umzusehen. Ein Kreditkartenunternehmen überprüft möglicherweise nur Ihre FICO-Basisbewertung, um festzustellen, ob Sie zur Eröffnung eines Kontos berechtigt sind, während ein anderes möglicherweise Ihre kreditkartenspezifische Bewertung überprüft. Es gibt auch mehrere Versionen jedes branchenspezifischen Algorithmus. Beispielsweise verwenden einige automatische Kreditgeber FICO Auto 8, während andere weiterhin FICO Auto 5 verwenden.

    Warum ist eine gute Kreditwürdigkeit wichtig?

    Ein guter Kredit-Score ist so wichtig, weil er eine große Rolle für jedes Kreditangebot spielt, das Sie erhalten.

    Letztendlich sagt Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit den Kreditgebern, wie wahrscheinlich es ist, dass Sie Ihre Schulden zurückzahlen. Je niedriger Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit ist, desto größer ist das Risiko, dass der Kreditgeber Ihr Darlehen nicht vollständig zurückzahlt. Um dieses Risiko auszugleichen, werden die Kreditgeber mehr Garantien und höhere Zinssätze fordern.

    Der Zinsunterschied kann erheblich sein. Um dies zu verstehen, schauen wir uns an, wie sich die Zinssätze mit dem Kredit-Score für eine typische 30-jährige Hypothek ändern.

    Wenn Ihr Kredit-Score 800 oder höher ist, liegen die Hypothekenzinsen im Durchschnitt bei 3.4%. Wenn Ihr Kredit-Score unter 700 fällt, kann Ihre Rate auf 3.8% steigen. Unter 600, und es schießt bis zu mehr als 5%.

    Nehmen wir an, Sie nehmen ein Darlehen in Höhe von 200,000 USD auf. Bei einem Zinssatz von 3.4% müssten Sie über einen Zeitraum von 319,000 Jahren insgesamt 30 USD zurückzahlen. Bei einem Zinssatz von 5% würden Sie insgesamt 386,000 USD schulden. Das ist eine Gesamtdifferenz von 67,000 USD, ein Drittel des Betrags, den Sie ursprünglich geliehen haben, alles aufgrund eines Unterschieds in Ihrer FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit.

    Ein guter Kredit-Score kann Ihnen also helfen, eine erhebliche Menge an Geld für einen Kredit zu sparen.

    Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung Ihres FICO-Kredit-Scores

    An diesem Punkt fragen Sie sich wahrscheinlich, wie Sie Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit steigern können. Zum Glück haben Sie verschiedene Möglichkeiten, um Ihren FICO-Kredit-Score zu erhöhen und Ihre Kreditoptionen zu verbessern.

    Zahlungen pünktlich leisten

    Der beste Weg, um Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit nicht nur zu verbessern, sondern auch zu verhindern, dass sie im Laufe der Zeit sinkt, besteht darin, pünktliche Zahlungen zu leisten. Unabhängig davon, ob Sie Kreditkartenschulden zurückzahlen, monatliche Raten für ein persönliches Darlehen zahlen oder Ihre Hypothek bezahlen, wirkt sich eine konsistente Zahlung äußerst günstig auf Ihre FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit aus.

    Wichtig ist, dass Sie nur die Mindestzahlungen für Rechnungen leisten müssen, um Ihr Guthaben aufzubauen. Wenn Sie eine Zahlung verpassen, sollten Sie dies so schnell wie möglich nachholen. Je länger eine Rechnung unbezahlt bleibt, desto schlimmer ist der Schaden für Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit.

    Verwenden Sie weniger Guthaben

    Sie können Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit auch erhöhen, indem Sie den von Ihnen verwendeten Kreditbetrag im Verhältnis zu Ihrer verfügbaren Gesamtsumme minimieren. Wenn Sie mit Ihrer Kreditkarte beispielsweise bis zu 10,000 US-Dollar ausleihen können, steigt Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit mit der Zeit, wenn Sie jeweils nur maximal 3,000 US-Dollar ausleihen. Wenn Sie konsequent die vollen 10,000 US-Dollar ausleihen, kann dies Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit im Laufe der Zeit beeinträchtigen, selbst wenn Sie sie pünktlich zurückzahlen.

    Sie können das System bis zu einem gewissen Grad spielen, indem Sie mehrere Kreditkarten öffnen. Die Verwendung von 30% Ihres verfügbaren Guthabens auf jeder der drei Karten ist für Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit tatsächlich besser als die Verwendung von 90% Ihres verfügbaren Guthabens auf einer Karte.

    Wenn Sie wissen, dass Sie bald einen Kredit beantragen und Ihre Kreditauslastung über 30% liegt, können Sie Ihre Punktzahl schnell steigern, indem Sie einfach einen Teil Ihrer Kreditkarten- oder Kreditschulden abbezahlen.

    Bauen Sie Ihre Bonitätshistorie und Ihren Kreditmix auf

    Langfristig können Sie Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit verbessern, indem Sie eine starke Erfolgsbilanz aufbauen. Wenn Sie Ihre Kreditwürdigkeit aufbauen, indem Sie konsequent mehrere Kreditlinien offen haben, verbessern Sie Ihre Punktzahl, auch wenn Sie das verfügbare Kreditvolumen kaum nutzen.

    Wenn möglich, verwechseln Sie die Arten von Krediten, die Sie haben. Der FICO-Kreditbewertungsalgorithmus ist für Personen mit mehreren Kreditarten günstiger als für Personen, die bisher nur Kreditkarten verwendet haben.

    Fazit

    Ihr FICO-Kredit-Score spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Entscheidung, ob Sie für einen Kredit in Frage kommen, und bei der Qualität der angebotenen Konditionen. Das Verständnis der FICO-Kredit-Scores kann schwierig sein, wenn man bedenkt, dass es mehrere verschiedene Bewertungsalgorithmen gibt. Wenn Sie sich auf Ihren Basis-Kredit-Score konzentrieren, können Sie auf diese Weise herausfinden, wo im FICO-Score-Bereich Sie hinfallen. Dies bietet auch einen Ausgangspunkt für die Verbesserung Ihrer Kreditwürdigkeit, damit Sie Zugang zu mehr Kreditgebern und besseren Kreditangeboten erhalten.

    FundsJoy Privatkredite - am besten für hohe Limits

    Unsere Wertung

    Fundsjoy - Privatkredite
    • Leihen Sie sich zwischen 200 und 5000 US-Dollar aus
    • Die Genehmigungszeit ist außergewöhnlich
    • Einfacher Bewerbungsprozess
    Fundsjoy - Privatkredite

    Glossar der Darlehensbedingungen

    FAQs

    Gibt es einen Mindest-FICO-Kredit-Score, den ich benötige, um einen Kredit zu erhalten?

    Die Mindestkreditwerte variieren von Kreditgeber zu Kreditgeber. Einige Kreditgeber arbeiten nur mit potenziellen Kreditnehmern zusammen, die einen FICO-Kredit-Score von 580 oder mehr haben. Andere Kreditgeber geben keine Mindestbonität an und arbeiten mit Ihnen zusammen, unabhängig davon, wo Sie in den FICO-Bewertungsbereich fallen. Wenn Sie einen schlechten Kredit haben, ist es eine gute Idee, sich vor der Bewerbung bei potenziellen Kreditgebern über eine Mindestpunktzahl zu erkundigen.

    Wie kann ich meine FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit überprüfen?

    Es gibt keine Möglichkeit, Ihre FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit direkt zu überprüfen, indem Sie FICO danach fragen. Stattdessen müssen Sie sich an eine Kreditauskunftei, eine Bank, ein Kreditkartenunternehmen oder eine Kreditgenossenschaft wenden. Eine Vielzahl von Kreditgebern, darunter die meisten großen Banken und Kreditkarten, bieten kostenlose Kreditauskünfte für alle ihre Kunden. Wenn Sie noch keinen Zugriff auf Ihre Punktzahl haben, können Sie mit Discover auch Nicht-Kunden ihre Kreditwürdigkeit kostenlos überprüfen.

    Berücksichtigt mein Einkommen meinen FICO-Kredit-Score?

    Nein, das Einkommen wird nicht in die Berechnung Ihres FICO-Kredit-Scores einbezogen. Andere demografische Daten wie Ihr Wohnort, Ihr Alter, Ihre ethnische Zugehörigkeit und Ihre Beschäftigungsgeschichte werden in den FICO-Kredit-Scores ebenfalls nicht berücksichtigt. Ihr Kreditgeber kann jedoch eine Kreditentscheidung anbieten, die auf Ihrem Einkommen und Ihrer Beschäftigungsgeschichte basiert.

    Wie lange wirken sich negative Informationen noch auf meine FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit aus?

    Im Allgemeinen wirken sich negative Informationen bis zu sieben Jahre lang auf Ihre FICO-Kreditwürdigkeit aus. Beachten Sie jedoch, dass negative Noten nach ihrer Neuheit gewichtet werden. Eine versäumte Zahlung vor fünf Jahren hat eine viel geringere Auswirkung auf Ihr Guthaben als eine vor fünf Monaten.

    Darlehensarten - AZ-Verzeichnis

    Benutzer sollten sich daran erinnern, dass jeder Handel Risiken birgt und Benutzer nur in regulierte Unternehmen investieren sollten. Die geäußerten Ansichten sind nur die der Autoren. Die Wertentwicklung in der Vergangenheit ist keine Garantie für zukünftige Ergebnisse. Die auf dieser Website geäußerten Meinungen stellen keine Anlageberatung dar, und gegebenenfalls sollte eine unabhängige Finanzberatung eingeholt werden. Diese Website ist für Sie kostenlos, wir erhalten jedoch möglicherweise Provisionen von den Unternehmen, die wir auf dieser Website anbieten.

    Michael ist Autor für Finanzen, neue Märkte und Unternehmensdienstleistungen in den USA und Großbritannien. Seine Arbeiten wurden in führenden Online-Outlets und Magazinen veröffentlicht.

rtmark
LearnBonds.com

FICO Score Range: What’s Considered Good?

When you go to borrow money, lenders will be looking at your FICO score. We’ll cover what’s considered a good FICO score range and how you can improve your score.
michaelgraw
Author: michaelgraw
Last Updated: May 11, 2020
A stack of credit cards - representing FICO score calculation
A stack of credit cards - representing FICO score calculation

Your credit score is extremely important when you want to borrow money. After all, it’s the number that lenders will look at to determine whether to offer you a loan and what interest rate to charge you. If you’ve never looked into credit scores before, it’s probably not immediately clear what your number means for your lending prospects.

In this article, we’ll take a look at one of the most popular credit score models that lenders across the country use: FICO scores. We’ll explain what the FICO score range is to help you understand what’s considered a good credit score and what’s considered a bad one. We’ll also explore some of the ways that you can improve your FICO credit score so that you can put yourself in the best position possible for getting an affordable loan.

On this Page:

    FundsJoy Personal Loans - Best For High Limits

    Our Rating

    Fundsjoy - Personal Loans
    • Borrow Between $200 - $5000
    • Approval Time is Exceptional
    • Easy Application Process
    Fundsjoy - Personal Loans

    Understanding the FICO Score Range

    Your FICO credit score is a single number that ranges between 300 and 850. The higher the score, the better your credit in the eyes of lenders and the more likely lenders will be to offer you a loan with favorable terms.

    We can further break the FICO credit score down into five sub-ranges as a way to generally describe your credit:

    • 800-850: Exceptional
    • 740-799: Very Good
    • 670-739: Good
    • 580-669: Fair
    • 300-579: Very Poor

    FICO Score Range: The FICO score wheel showing the different classes of borrowers

    Generally, any credit score above 580 is considered to be okay. At this level or higher, you’ll easily be able to find a lender who is willing to work with you. Often, credit unions and reputable personal lenders require a minimum credit score of 580 to be approved for a loan.

    If your credit score is 670 or higher, you are at or above the creditworthiness of the average American. You should have no problem finding a lender if you fall into the “Good,” “Very Good,” or “Exceptional” credit categories.

    Credit scores below 580 are considered to be poor. With poor credit, you’ll need to look specifically for lenders who are willing to work with bad credit.

    What Determines Your FICO Credit Score?

    FICO credit scores generally weigh five different categories to calculate your score:

    • FICO Score Range: The FISCO score wheel showing how the score is determinedPayment History (35%): Have you paid your debts on time? This part of your credit score goes down when you miss a payment and goes up when you consistently make debt payments over a long period of time.
    • Amount Owed and Credit Utilization (30%): How much do you currently owe to lenders? Even more important, how much of your total available credit (from credit cards and other lines of equity) are you currently borrowing? This utilization ratio gives lenders an idea of your overall financial health.
    • Length of Credit History (15%): The longer you have had lines of credit open in your name, the better your FICO credit score will be. Simply put, lenders have more data about your borrowing history and your likelihood to repay a debt.
    • Credit Mix (10%): This part of your FICO credit score hinges on how many different types of debts you have taken out over time. If all your debt is on credit cards, that will hurt your credit score relative to spreading that debt across a credit card, auto loan, personal loan, and mortgage.
    • New Credit (10%): If you’ve recently borrowed money or opened up a new line of credit, your credit score could drop slightly. Think of it this way: if you took out five different loans in the past three months, that would be a potential red flag to new lenders.

    There’s More than One FICO Score

    Unfortunately, credit scores aren’t as simple as a single number. That’s because FICO has put out different versions of its credit scoring algorithm over time and for different industries. As a result, different lenders may be using different formulas to determine your credit score.

    FICO 9 vs. FICO 8

    The number one reason different lenders could see different credit scores for a single individual is that the FICO algorithm has gone through updates over time. The company recently released FICO 9, but many lenders and credit agencies are still using FICO 8 to calculate credit scores. In fact, some lenders could be using a credit scoring algorithm as old as FICO 5, which was released in 2005!

    The differences between FICO scoring algorithms can be significant. FICO 9, for example, gives less weight to overdue medical debts than other types of debt, which can make a big difference in some individuals’ credit scores. FICO 9 also makes it easier for renters to improve their credit scores by factoring in on-time rent payments, which FICO 8 ignores.

    Right now, the vast majority of lenders are still using FICO 8 to calculate your credit score, but it’s worth shopping around at different lenders if you’re on the border between credit score sub-ranges. You might be able to get a better loan offer from lenders using FICO 9.

    Industry-specific FICO Scores

    To make matters more confusing, we’ve only focused on “base” FICO scores up to this point. There are also industry-specific scores, which range from 250-900 instead of 300-850.

    These industry scores use algorithms that are tailored for auto loans, for example, as well as for mortgages, credit cards, and other types of credit. If you’re almost finished paying off an auto loan but have a lot of credit card debt, your auto-specific credit score might be much higher than your credit card-specific score.

    Once again, this is part of why it’s so important to shop around. One credit card company might look only at your base FICO score to determine if you’re eligible to open an account, while another might look at your credit card-specific score. There are also multiple versions of each industry-specific algorithm. For example, some auto lenders are using FICO Auto 8, while others are still using FICO Auto 5.

    Why is Having a Good Credit Score Important?

    Having a good credit score is so important because it plays a huge role in the terms of any loan offer you receive.

    Ultimately, your credit score tells lenders how likely you are to repay your debt. The lower your credit score, the more risk the lender takes on that you won’t pay back your loan in full. To compensate for that risk, lenders will demand more guarantees and higher interest rates.

    The difference in interest rates can be significant. To understand this, let’s look at how interest rates change with credit score for a typical 30-year mortgage.

    If your credit score is 800 or above, mortgage interest rates average around 3.4%. If your credit score drops below 700, your rate could go up to 3.8%. Below 600, and it shoots up to more than 5%.

    With that in mind, let’s say you take out a $200,000 loan. With a 3.4% interest rate, you’d have to pay back a total of $319,000 over 30 years. At a 5% interest rate, you would owe a total of $386,000. That’s a total difference of $67,000, one-third of the amount that you originally borrowed, all because of a difference in your FICO credit score.

    So, having a good credit score can help you save a significant amount of money on a loan.

    Ways to Improve Your FICO Credit Score

    At this point, you’re probably wondering how you can boost your credit score. Thankfully, you have a couple different options to raise your FICO credit score and improve your loan options.

    Make Payments On Time

    The single best way to not only improve your credit score, but also to prevent it from dropping over time is to make payments on time. Whether you’re paying back credit card debt, paying monthly instalments on a personal loan, or paying your mortgage, being consistent in your payments reflects extremely favorably on your FICO credit score.

    Importantly, you only have to make the minimum payments on bills in order to build your credit. If you do miss a payment, make sure to catch up as soon as possible. The longer a bill sits unpaid, the worse the damage to your credit score.

    Use Less Credit

    You can also bump up your credit score by minimizing the amount of credit you use relative to your total available. For example, if your credit card allows you to borrow up to $10,000, your credit score will climb over time if you only borrow up to a maximum of $3,000 at a time. If you consistently borrow the full $10,000, that can hurt your credit score over time even if you pay it back on time.

    You can game the system to some extent by opening multiple credit cards. Using 30% of your available credit across each of three cards is actually better for your credit score than using 90% of your available credit on one card.

    If you know you’ll be applying for a loan soon and your credit utilization is above 30%, you can get your score higher quickly simply by paying off some of your credit card or loan debt.

    Build Up Your Credit History and Credit Mix

    Over the long term, you can improve your credit score by establishing a strong track record. Building up your credit history by consistently having several lines of credit open will improve your score, even if you hardly use the available credit.

    Where possible, mix up the types of credit you have. The FICO credit scoring algorithm looks more favorably upon individuals with multiple types of credit than upon individuals who have only ever used credit cards.

    Conclusion

    Your FICO credit score plays an important role in determining whether you’ll be eligible for a loan and the quality of terms you’ll be offered. Understanding FICO credit scores can be tricky considering that there are multiple different scoring algorithms. If you focus on your base credit score, that’s a good way to figure out where in the FICO score range you fall. That also offers a starting point for improving your credit score so that you can get access to more lenders and better loan offers.

    FundsJoy Personal Loans - Best For High Limits

    Our Rating

    Fundsjoy - Personal Loans
    • Borrow Between $200 - $5000
    • Approval Time is Exceptional
    • Easy Application Process
    Fundsjoy - Personal Loans

    Glossary of Loan Terms

    A scale showing a high Credit Score
    Credit Score

    A credit score shows your creditworthiness. It's primarily based on how much money you owe to loan or credit card companies, if you have ever missed payments or if you have ever defaulted on a loan.

    A green tick stamp showing Guaranteed Approval
    Guaranteed Approval

    Guaranteed Approval is when, no matter how bad, your credit score its, your loan application will not get declined.

    A stack of coins and notes to show Cash Advance
    Cash Advance

    A Cash Advance is a short-term loan that has steep interest rates and fees.

    A secured padlock and document showing Collateral
    Collateral

    Collateral is when you put up an item against your loan such as your house or car. These can be reposessed if you miss payments.

    A scale with coins showing a high Credit Limit
    Credit Limit

    A Credit Limit is the highest amont of credit a lender will lend to the borrower.

    5 gold stars showing a high Credit Rating
    Credit Rating

    Your Credit Rating is how likely you are to fulfil your loan payments and how risky you are as a borrower.

    A silver cog with a gold star inside
    Default

    If you default on your loan it means you are unable to keep up with your payments and no longer pay back your loan.

    A coin with a green arrow showing Interest Rates
    Interest

    The Interest is a percentage based on the amount of your loan that you pay back to the lender for using their money.

    Piles of coins showing Fixed Interest Rate
    Fixed Interest Rate

    Fixed Interest Rate is when the interest rate of your loan will not change over the period you are paying off you loan.

    A calendar with an exclamation mark showing late payment
    Late Fee

    If you miss a payment the lender will charge you for being late, this is known as a late fee.

    A printed document with a crest showing a Principle
    Principle

    The Principle amount the borrower owes the lender, not including any interest or fees.

    A tag with a dollar symbol highlighting Prime Rate
    Prime Rate

    This is the Interest Rate used by banks for borrowers with good credit scores.

    A and holding a pile of green cash
    Secured Loan

    A Secured Loan is when you put collateral such as your house or car up against the amount you're borrowing.

    A hand holding cash with an unlocked padlock
    Unsecured Personal Loan

    An Unsecured Personal Loan is when you have a loan based soley on your creditworthliness without using collateral.

    Two hands holding an changing interest rate
    Variable Rate

    A Variable Rate is when the interest rate of you loan will change with inflation. Sometimes this will lower your interest rate, but other times it will increase.

    a credit card with gold coins
    AAA Credit

    Having an AAA Credit Rating is the highest rating you can have.

    A small bridge
    Bridge Loan

    A Bridge Loan is a short term loand that can last from 2 weeks up to 3 years dependant on lender.

    A calendar and tools to show an Installment Loan
    Installment Loan

    An Installment Loan is a loan that is paid back bi-weekly or monthly over the period in which the loan is borrowed for.

    A graduation cap and price tag
    Federal Student Loan

    If you obtain a Federal Student Loan to pay your way through College ten you loan is held with the U.S. Department of Education.

    A graph with a magnifying glass
    Financial Aid

    Financial Aid is funding available to post-secondary education students in America.

    A grey bank building with a green dollar symbol inside
    Guarantor

    A Guarantor co-signs on a loan stating the borrower is able to make the payments, but if they miss any or default the Guarantor will have to pay.

    Homes on scales balanced with money
    Home Equity Loans

    Home Equity Loans is where you borrow the equity from your property and pay it back with interest and fees over an agreed time period with the lender.

    London Inter Bank Offered Rate
    LIBOR

    LIBOR is the London Inter-Bank Offered Rate which is the benchmarker for

    Gold coins being fed into a larger doller weight
    Debt Consolidation

    Debt Consolidation is when you take out one loans to pay off all others. This leads to one monthyl payment, usually with a lower interest rate.

    FAQs

    Is there a minimum FICO credit score I need in order to get a loan?

    Minimum credit scores vary from lender to lender. Some lenders will only work with prospective borrowers who have a FICO credit score of 580 or more. Other lenders don’t specify a minimum credit rating and will work with you regardless of where you fall on the FICO score range. If you have bad credit, it’s a good idea to check with prospective lenders about a minimum score requirement before applying.

    How can I check my FICO credit score?

    There’s no way to check your FICO credit score directly by asking FICO for it. Instead, you have to go through a credit reporting agency, bank, credit card company, or credit union. A huge variety of lenders, including most major banks and credit cards, include free credit reports for all their customers. If you don’t already have access to your score, Discover allows even non-customers to check their credit score for free.

    Does my income factor into my FICO credit score?

    No, income is not included in the calculation of your FICO credit score. Other demographic data, such as where you live, your age, your ethnicity, and your employment history, are also not taken into account in FICO credit scores. However, your lender may offer a loan decision based on your income and employment history.

    How long does negative information continue to impact my FICO credit score?

    In general, negative information continues to impact your FICO credit score for up to seven years. However, keep in mind that negative marks are weighted according to how new they are. A missed payment five years ago will have a much smaller effect on your credit than one from five months ago.

    Types of Loan – A-Z Directory

    All trading carries risk. Views expressed are those of the writers only. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. The opinions expressed in this Site do not constitute investment advice and independent financial advice should be sought where appropriate. This website is free for you to use but we may receive commission from the companies we feature on this site.
    michaelgraw

    Michael is a writer covering finance, new markets, and business services in the US and UK. His work has been published in leading online outlets and magazines.

    HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com