LearnBonds.com

Bond Market Holidays

Rate this post

Bond Market HolidaysBond Market Holidays are not necessarily fixed. The market is very decentralized with no central trading venue (like NYSE or NASDAQ) which decides when the market is closed. One group of bond market traders can be on holiday, while another might be working.  However, even bond traders do need to get vacation time. SIFMA, an organization of financial firms, suggests that financial institutions use the following dates and times for holidays.

Trying to trade bonds during these times, might be very difficult.

Bond Market Holidays 2013

Holiday                                       Early Closing                               Time Off

Labor Day None Monday, September 2, 2013
Columbus Day None Monday, October 14, 2013
Veterans Day None Monday, November 11, 2013
Thanksgiving Day Friday, November 29, 2013 Thursday, November 28, 2013
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 24, 2013 Wednesday, December 25, 2013
New Year’s Day 2013/2014 Tuesday, December 31, 2013 Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Bond Market Holidays 2014

Holiday                                       Early Closing                                       Time Off

New Year’s Day 2013/2014 Tuesday, December 31, 2013 Wednesday, January 1, 2014
Martin Luther King Day None Monday, January 20, 2014
Presidents Day None Monday, February, 17, 2014
Good Friday Thursday, April 17, 2014 Friday, April 18, 2014
Memorial Day Friday, May 23, 2014 Monday, May 26, 2014
U.S. Independence Day None Friday, July 4, 2014
Labor Day None Monday, September 1, 2014
Columbus Day None Monday, October 13, 2014
Veterans Day None Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thanksgiving Day Friday, November 28, 2014 Thursday, November 27, 2014
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 24, 2014 Thursday, December 25, 2014
New Year’s Day 2014/2015 Wednesday, December 31, 2014 Thursday, January 1, 2015
All trading carries risk. Views expressed are those of the writers only. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. The opinions expressed in this Site do not constitute investment advice and independent financial advice should be sought where appropriate. This website is free for you to use but we may receive commission from the companies we feature on this site.
Avatar

Marc Prosser

Write first comment

Reply

Your email address is not published.